No Bun In This Oven

A great WordPress.com site

Infertility Jam – I Would Die for That

on December 3, 2013

Double post today! I have been googling like mad looking for songs and books and all things infertility. It just makes me feel so much less isolated to know there are so many people out there who know what I’m feeling. I want to share the things I’ve found that moved me with you all so you can feel supported too!

The first song I want to share is called “I Would Die for That” by Kellie Coffey. Let me tell you, I am not a fan of country music, but this song made me cry, multiple times. I don’t really appreciate the abortion related business at the beginning, but after that point it’s just amazing. This artist, Kellie Coffey, put off starting a family until her mid thirties because she wanted to establish her career. When she and her husband started trying, they didn’t have much luck. They finally did get pregnant only to miscarry. She wrote this song shortly after her miscarriage, and then found out not too long after that that she was pregnant again. She now has a little boy.

My favorite verse:

“I’ve been given so much,
A husband that I love.
So why do I feel incomplete?
With every test and checkup
We’re told not to give up.
He wonders if it’s him.
And I wonder if it’s me.

All I want is a family,
Like everyone else I see.
And I won’t understand it
If it’s not meant to be.”

I hope it touches you as much as it did me!

 
5 responses to “Infertility Jam – I Would Die for That

  1. courtney rhoe says:

    I’ve only read your last couple entries, but our situations are so similar. I am also 29 (been TTC off and on since 2005…4m/cs to date, had left tube removed in 2008 AND have PCOS) and of course almost all my friends are having babies…most on 2 and 3 now. I even recently had a close friend who is 8 months pregnant with her first who right after asking how fertility treatments were going said in regard to turning 30 “yea this isn’t how I thought I’d be spending my birthday, but it’s ok” My response was “I’d be beyond blessed to be where you are when I turn 30 in a few months” She of course said I misconstrued her comment and apologized for offending me which offended me more that she couldn’t just apologize for being insensitive! This is the same girl that gives weekly FB updates on how many weeks pregnant she is and relates EVERY feeling, thought, and urge (again, on FB) to pregnancy like she’s the first pregnant woman on earth! So I feel your irritation and deleted my FB for awhile a few months ago bc I couldn’t take all the pics and comments like how another friend accidentally got pregnant for a third time and now has 3 kids under three…I kept quiet when all I wanted to say was “SERIOUSLY?! You don’t use birth control or condoms with your husband…you can’t call that accidental!” We just had our first IUI and am 9dpiui in the 2ww…I may or may not survive lol

    That song you posted was great too…brought me to tears. I shared it on my page bc I’m attempting to be more open about infertility since I haven’t over the last few years and hope to make people more aware of their words and actions. I was so alone and lost in 2005 after my first m/c. It’s so great to see outlets for women to connect like this and other websites and blogs.

    • InfertileMyrtle says:

      Courtney I’m so sorry for your losses. I try so hard to remember that our fertile friends just can’t understand how this feels and they really don’t mean to hurt us with their insensitive comments, but it’s also important to vent to other infertile ladies who feel your pain! I try to be open about our struggles because I don’t want to contribute to the stigma, but it is hard because it makes people uncomfortable. I think it’s really important we be open when we can, because it helps people realize how many of us there are. Good luck on your journey!

  2. Susan says:

    I haven’t watched this in a LONG time, but boy does it make me cry every time I do. Thanks for sharing it with us agian!

  3. Sophhie says:

    Infertile Myrtle: I cried my eyes out while watching this song. I am deeply upset and I believe we are on the same boat – I am 32, my husband is 43 and we’ve been trying to conceive for 28 months now! And they can’t find ANYTHING wrong with us. I have a lot of great quality eggs, very regular cycle, open tubes, every months a positive OPK, fertile mucus, my husband has 400 millions f super motile sperms, yet no baby!!! I almost died when my friend me emailed me a picture of her baby she conceived a month after her wedding. We are the same age… This month we tried IUI and everything was perfect except I do not feel anything after 9 dpiui.
    I’m on twoweekwait.com that’s how I got here.

    • InfertileMyrtle says:

      Hi Sophhie, I’m so sorry for your struggles. Unexplained infertility is very frustrating. Is this your first IUI? I really hope this one is a BFP for you! Keep in mind most people don’t have any symptoms at only 9dpo, you’re still in the game! I’m glad you found TWW.com, it really helps to connect with other women who know your pain. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

