No Bun In This Oven

A great WordPress.com site

Shot to the butt, and you’re to blame

on January 6, 2014

Darlin you give baby making a bad name!

Had my monitoring appointment and trigger shot today. Uterine lining was 11, one follie was 21 and then there was a little 15 that they said may or may not join the party. They also gave me my first ever trigger shot.

I have heard different names of triggers mentioned in the IF world (the only one I can remember is Ovidrel) but they didn’t tell me anything about it, they just did it. I looked at our form on the way to checkout and saw they checked HcG, so that’s all I know about it. I gather from my blog reading that HcG triggers will give you a positive test for several days, but they didn’t say anything about this. What if I was an obsessive early tester and thought I got a BFP?! That could be bad. I’m debating whether to take a HPT tonight and see if it’s positive.

IUI #2 tomorrow at 10:30!

11 responses to “Shot to the butt, and you’re to blame

  1. I’m in for IUI at the same time tomorrow. I also am going to test once we get home, just to see what a BFP really looks like. I’ve heard of women “testing out” their HCG shot, but I’m just going to wait until my blood test two weeks from IUI date. Good luck!

  2. Loren says:

    Good luck. I’ve done the trigger twice, and the hcg has been out of my system by 12dpo.

  3. T says:

    Woohoo! I’m looking towards iui #2 late this week or early next. Good luck!! I’ve definitely heard of other people “testing out” the HCG shot too, and they’ve gotten positives. Let us know if it happens for you too, haha.

  4. Ooh good luck. I’m 4dpiui today. An online friend of mine had a trigger shot last cycle and she tested until it no longer showed positive so that she knew it wasn’t a false positive. I would just love to see a BFP from my own pee stick, that’d be like a unicorn lol.

  5. Susan says:

    Ovidrel is what I used–I tested + until 11 days post shot on an HPT–just so you know. It’s hard but best to wait!!! Also, our RE said follicles can gain 3mm between ovidrel and ovulation–so you could easily hatch twins! Good luck! Will be keeping up between now and beta day!

    • Mallory says:

      Good to know, thanks! My RE didn’t mention doing a beta and we didn’t do one last IUI, but we also didn’t use a trigger. I will have to ask today if that would be better so I don’t get a false positive.

Leave a Reply

