No Bun In This Oven

A great WordPress.com site

Liebster!

on January 29, 2014

Image

 

Cassie at Infertile Girl in a Fertile World nominated me for a Liebster Award! How cool is that! Yay for talking about things other than your broken uterus! Here are answers to the questions she chose:

Have you always lived in the place you are currently living, if not, what took you to where you are now?

I grew up about 2.5 hours North of where I live now. My parents and a couple close friends still live there and I visit pretty often. When The Husband and I started dating, I lived in my home town and he lived in another city about 2 hours south. After we’d been dating about 4 months I moved an hour further south with a friend, so we were only an hour apart. This was the status quo for a year, and then I convinced him that I should move to his city and live with him (no easy task). We lived in that city, which I hated, for a year before moving 45 minutes away to our current location, which reminds me a lot of my home town. In summary, I followed him south and then we moved together even further south!

What’s the best meal you’ve ever eaten?

This is hard to say, but whatever it was I’m sure it was some kind of Thai food. I’m obsessed with Thai food and could eat it every day. I worked at a Thai restaurant for over a year and still never got sick of it!

What ability or skill do you wish you had (I’m not talking super powers here…)?

I really want to learn to play the piano (I finally contacted a place about lessons today!) and I really hope to become proficient. I’ve never really had a special skill. Like when someone says “what do you do for fun?” I’m like “uh,…..sleep”

What was your favorite subject in school?

I always really loved English, but my two favorite classes were drama and yearbook staff. Don’t laugh! It was totally un-dorky at my school to be in plays and on the yearbook staff. Some of my favorite memories of school are staying late to work on those things.

What is your favorite movie of all time (or two, I’ll allow that because mine is a tie)?

Dirty Dancing. I’ve seen it so many times I can quote mostly the whole thing. That dance scene in Johnny’s cabin while they listen to “feel like cryin”? Damn!

In everyday life, what is your biggest pet peeve?

When girls wear little dresses and sandals when it’s freaking freezing outside. You don’t look cute! You look like an idiot! Put some damn pants on!

What is the #1 most played song on your iPod?

As of late probably “Stop for me” which is kind of my infertility jam. But the most listened to song of all time would be “Transatlanticism” by Deathcab for Cutie. It was the first dance at our wedding, and it’s just such a beautiful song.

If you could be any fictional character, who would you be?

My first though was Agent Scully from the XFiles. I am fully obsessed with the XFiles. If I think about it logically, the woman had her sister murdered, her child died, the other one she had to give up to keep safe, she was abducted by aliens and the love of her life died right before she found out she was pregnant. Sounds crappy, but she’s so badass I can’t resist.

What is your favorite book?

“She’s Come Undone” by Wally Lamb. I have read it probably at least 3 or 4 times. I highly recommend it.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

My first career aspiration was to be a Forensic Pathologist. I used to watch those crime shows where they used evidence in the lab to solve crimes and I thought it looked so cool. Then I found out Forensic Pathologists have to do autopsies and I changed my mind.

 

My Nominations!!

Katie at Birds, Bees and Medicine http://www.birdsbeesandmeds.blogspot.com/

Jenn at Dogs Aren’t kids http://dogsarentkids.wordpress.com/

Megs at Work is For Suckers http://workisfor.blogspot.com/

How to play

If you choose to participate (why wouldn’t you? It’s awesome), no pressure, here are the rules to “accept” it.

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.

  3. Answer the questions that I give you below.

  • What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done?
  • When you really want to treat/reward yourself, what do you do?
  • What is your favorite quality about your partner?
  • What is your favorite quality about yourself?
  • Which character from the show “Friends” do you identify most with and why?
  • What is your favorite curse word/curse phrase?
  • What song would you want played at your funeral?
  • How old were you when you had your first kiss? (with details)
  • What is your greatest fear? (besides those related to IF?)
  • What foreign language would you like to learn most?
  1. Nominate as many blogs that you feel deserve the award.

  2. Create a new list of questions for the bloggers you have nominated to answer.

  3. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here)

Once you have accepted your MAJOR award by writing and publishing your “acceptance” speech, you then should inform the people/blogs that you have nominated them for the Liebster Award.  Also, you might want to provide a link for them back to this post or your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

 

 

5 responses to “Liebster!

  1. Elisha says:

    I loved learning more about you 🙂 I also want to play the piano 😉

    waitingforbabybird.com

  2. I LOVE Dirty Dancing too! That scene is my fav!

  3. Caroline says:

    Congrats on your award!!!

Leave a Reply

